running / yoga

being active

Let me preface this by saying that I’m not an active person (that gene went to by brother). Every time I participate in a sport – I get injured, like earlier this year when I sprained my ankle after 20 minutes of soccer. Fun, right?


Here’s the thing, I need to be active. For the past 9 years I’ve sat down to study – and haven’t done much else. Back in January I decided I needed to make a lifestyle change. By then, I was already incorporating more fruits and vegetables in my diet – but I wasn’t doing anything to get my blood pumping. 


Thus, I decide to join a running program at my school. I’m really bad a running, but I figured having sexy legs wouldn’t be a bad thing – so I stuck with it. The first couple of times were hard – both physically (the next day I felt as though I was hit by a truck) and mentally (it was kind of embarrassing to literally be the last person running around the track). 


The physical pain went away, and so did the mental pain. I had accepted the fact that I wasn’t as good as everyone else – but at least I was trying. I kept up with running during the summer, and sported shorts all the time. 


Nevertheless, running has (sadly) been put on the back-burner since September, as i acclimate to the stresses of my new school – but I’ve discovered a new love – yoga. 


Now, because i love to jump with two feet in, I tried hot yoga first. I never knew a person could sweat that much – and even though plenty of my friends warned me, I didn’t quite believe them. 


Yoga is difficult (at least the standing/balancing poses), but it’s definitely worth it. I’m beginning to have nicely toned muscles, my posture has improved, and my mind feels amazing. I experience such a great feeling once class is over – my body feels nicely stretched, and my mind feels completely at peace. I wish I had begun yoga sooner, but now is better than never. 


I would recommend that you shop around at studios – mine offered an $40 intro pass (unlimited month). I highly recommend Moksha Yoga, they have amazing teachers and an incredible studio. 


Namaste.

Leave a Reply

