food / thoughts

plate expectations

This probably doesn’t come as a surprise – but I’m a total foodie. I love going to new restaurants to experience the marriage of different flavours and textures, and I especially love going with my boyfriend – because he’s always open to trying new things. 

Ever since we’ve started dating, we would go to Winterlicious or Summerlicious (more recently both) to eat great food from some of the top restaurants in Toronto. Recently, we’ve started going to higher end restaurants to see what all the fuss was about – and this past week we finally scored hard-to-get reservations at Canoe
I’ve heard from many people that while their food is good, you don’t get much and end up leaving hungry. In fact, before I left the house on Friday, my mother advised me to stop at a McDonalds (no thanks!) before or after our meal. 
 
It really struck me that many people base their opinion on a restaurant based on how much food they get on their plate. This shouldn’t shock me as the people that I’ve spoken to are mainly Italian – and they like their plates filled with food (This is how we were raised!). 
 
I knew that going to Canoe wasn’t going to be the same as going to Montanas – although both are delicious places, one caters to foodies (and an upscale clientele) and other caters to people who are simply hungry, and looking for delicious comfort food. High-end restaurants, like Canoe, pride themselves on a) their name b) their location and the clientele they regularly serve and c) the creativity of their food, NOT how much food they can fit on a plate. 
 
Now to be honest, I was scared when I first spotted my appetizer (Northern Woods Mushroom & Potato Terrine). It was exceptionally small, and I definitely never had anything like it before. My boyfriend laughed at me and enjoyed the shocked look on my face, while enjoying his beluga lentil soup (although he did offer a taste – it was delicious). After overcoming my shock, I began to taste what was on my plate. Now although the appetizer was small, I felt that I enjoyed the food better because I took my time to eat it – I sampled the flavour pairings and enjoyed the textures!
 
I was relieved that the entree was bigger (Pan Fried Great Lakes Walleye), and just as delicious. I chose the walleye, and I didn’t expect a whole fish to be on my plate – it was a regular serving of fish, paired with greens and potatoes, served along a smoked mustard sauce. The bf got a duo of beef, which was also a perfect example of what one serving should look like. 
 
It’s funny (although sad) how our society has a distorted vision of how much we should actually be eating. I really believe that through educated thought, they’ll not only be more satisfied with what they’re getting at high quality restaurants, they’ll also be satisfied and happier with their health. 
 
Overall, while the critics were right (there wasn’t as much food as I had been accustomed to) the entire meal (appetizer, entree, and dessert) was enough to satisfy me. Which begs the question, how much food can (or should) one person consume in order for them to feel satisfied. What’s you’re choice: quality versus quantity?
Leave a Reply

