cooking / food / recipe

my form of meditation is…

…cooking!

Since overhauling my diet (except for the sometimes cupcake and croissant…ultimate vice, don’t get me started), I have found myself trying new food combinations and modifying classic recipes. 

Today’s dish: Spicy Shrimp Pasta!

When I had to give up foods containing gluten, I was devastated! I’m Italian – how could I possibly eat pasta (although I don’t eat it very much…)? After stepping out of my bubble I realized that brown rice pasta existed!

I’ve gotten quite courageous throughout the years – I went from eating pasta with only butter, slowly made my way to cream sauce, then inched on to tomato sauce, and then to pasta with chicken/fish and vegetables… I digress… 

This dish is incredibly simple to make!

Ingredients:

-10 large raw shrimp (peeled – aka. no tail and legs)

– 1 medium onion (chopped)

– 3 garlic cloves (chopped)

– 2 tbsp hot pepper sauce

– 1 tsp dried parsley

– 2 tbsp olive oil

– 1 cup regular or gluten-free pasta (penne, fusilli)

– 1/2 jar of tomato sauce

– 1/2 cup mushrooms (oyster mushrooms are one of my favourites)

– 1/2 cup frozen peas

Marinate the shrimp with the onion, garlic, hot pepper sauce, parsley, and olive oil. I typically do this for 15 minutes – you can do it longer – it’s really up to you. 

In the meantime, bring a pot of water to a boil with added salt – add the pasta and stir. 

After the time has elapsed (with the shrimp), take the shrimp and its marinade and begin to cook it a pan (I typically use a wok), once shrimp has been fully cooked (it should be pink) add the tomato sauce, mushrooms, and peas to the mixture and continue to stir. 

Once the pasta is ready (cooked al dente), strain it and run it under cold water (really good trick for gluten-free pasta). Add the pasta to the sauce and let it cook for about 5 minutes. 

Voila! I like to top my pasta with some aged white cheddar cheese – It’s such an amazing flavour combination!

What’s your favourite pasta dish? What’s the craziest ingredient that you’ve ever added?

Leave a Reply

