detox / running / yoga

focus and breathe

Today’s message at yoga was “Focus on your breath, don’t worry about your posture.”   Before starting the Naturopathic Medicine program at CCNM, I really didn’t realize how important deep breathing truly is. Had I known – I probably would have had a better and more relaxed summer… but you live and you learn. 

Deep breathing is great for reducing stress and your blood pressure, and it promotes better blood flow – which releases toxins! To me, this makes hot yoga the perfect exercise during a detox because you’re sweating (like crazy) and practising deep breathing. 

As for the rest of my ‘rules’ for the detox: I’ve been slacking on juicing (I like smoothies much better), but I have managed to exercise every day (well, except on Friday…). I’m still finding it very hard to push myself to get out of bed at 7 to go running (which I’m now finding to be kind of boring)… or even do one of those Nike Training Club workouts (which are actually pretty fun and fantastic). 

Does anyone know any good tricks for getting out of bed and exercising in the morning (especially since I get home quite late)?
Leave a Reply

