cooking / food / recipe

versatile foods… salmon


Salmon has to be one of my favourite fish (I only like a few, so it’s not a long list). After embarking on my elimination diet, I became well acquainted with this wonderful fish. The beauty about salmon is that it’s so completely versatile – it tastes amazing with mustard and onions, or a cayenne-ginger rub, or even a soy-maple glaze.

For last night’s dinner, I wanted to try a new combination of flavours: maple syrup and soy sauce! I found this awesome recipe, and modified it for one.  

– 1 tbsp soy sauce
– 2 tbsp maple syrup (I used all natural)
– 1 garlic clove (minced)
– 1 sprinkle of sea salt
– 1 salmon filet 

I paired it with a spinach and avocado salad because a. I have a huge container of spinach to eat by March 10 (…yay), and because the combination tastes awesome. 

Spinach and Avocado Salad

– Spinach
– Goat cheese
– 1/2 or 1 avocado
– Sunflower seeds
– Balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil

(Please note that I don’t have an exact recipe for this salad – I just toss a good amount of the ingredients in and go with it.)

What are you having for dinner tonight?
Leave a Reply

