life

slip & slide

Despite previous blog posts, today has been a good week. Granted I’ve been staying up late catching up on notes/making sure I stay on top of things. Which makes me sleep in later than I should, resulting in my buying lunch or not bringing enough to eat, so I’m starving during the day. When I get home at night, I’m too tired to cook anything for myself, so I sample whatever my parents have made. Case in point? I bought $20 worth of antibiotic and grain-fed chicken yesterday, but my mom cooked amazing (regular) chicken today – and so I ate that because I was starving/hungry. 

I was reading an article that said that you should let life lead the way and not control anything. It that really feasible though? I find that I break habits when I do that. I work and live better when my weekdays are at least regimented – for example: I need to have a weekly menu to stick to eating well, and not throwing away $20 worth of fruits and vegetables. Even with schoolwork, I need to have a plan that tells me what I’m supposed to be doing tonight or this weekend to make sure that I’ve accomplished something and didn’t stay in bed reading the newest Sophie Kinsella book. 

So while I get that you can’t control every aspect of your life – having a plan is good. At least when you’re a student. I haven’t entered the workforce yet, so maybe you can fly by the seat of your pants… (although I don’t think that it’s very accurate)


My goal this weekend? Re-establish my weekly menu plan – mainly for the sake of my bank account and my health. 


Do you ever find yourself slipping and sliding? What do you do to get back on track?
Leave a Reply

