food / recipe

(almost) bbq time! portobello burgers

 
I bought some portobello mushrooms this weekend – hoping to barbecue them in this weather (thanks global warming), and then it ended up being 3 degrees yesterday. Win! I got this idea because my brother and dad wanted to make homemade hamburgers, and although I don’t really eat red meat anymore, I wanted barbecue too – so I decided to modify a few things… 
 
A portobello mushroom is great to use as a meat alternative because it’s healthier, but still has a meaty texture. It definitely a nice meal to have on meatless-monday. 
 
Like most of my recipes, I just made this one up as I went along. Although I’m sure there are ‘formal’ recipes out there that do the same thing. 
 
What you need:
– 1 portobello mushroom
– 1 clove of garlic (minced)
– olive oil
– balsamic vinegar
– seasoning (I used italian seasoning)
 
About an hour or two before (I prepped it the day before), add 2 tbsp of olive oil, 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar, garlic, and 1 tsp of seasoning to a bowl and mix. Pour it on the base of the avocado so it can absorb more easily. Cover the bowl and refrigerate. 
 
This picture doesn’t look the best – but after pouring on the mixture, I refrigerated the mushroom, which caused the oil to thicken. 
 
Barbecue time!
 
 
Stand outside in the cold (or in the heat – soon enough), and grill for about 3 minutes on each side – or really, for however long you want. This isn’t a hamburger where you need to cook it all the way through. 
 
 
Add some toppings and you’re good to go! I added goat cheese, tomato, lettuce, and guacamole – and it tasted amazing!
 
Beware that the mushroom is quite slippery, so things might become a bit messy. Also, I didn’t have a gluten free bun – which didn’t upset my stomach too much, but I think I’m going to start searching for some in stores.
Leave a Reply

