botanical medicine / food / gardening

let the garden grow

No Italian household is complete without a garden. My grandmother has a huge vegetable garden in her backyard, so we’re definitely well fed during the summer. However, I thought it would be nice to grow my own herb garden – especially since I use so many herbs when I cook. 

While I was in Montreal, my mom picked up a couple of plants for me – parsley, cilantro, thyme, basil, sage, oregano, and spearmint. 
After work today, I took advantage of the sun and warm weather, and began (re)planting away!
I planted everything (my dad supervised – apparently my parents don’t trust me enough to keep things alive), and then started searching for a nice place to put these pots. 
I replanted the basil with my chives (and then added a few more basil and chive plants). 
I put everything else in a nice planter that my dad made a few years back. He then channelled his inner Candice Olson, and neatly filled the empty spaces with pine cones!

Now I just have to remember to water these everyday… 

Leave a Reply

