weekend adventures

weekend adventures

Week 2 of my culinary class: We made an ancient grain salad, which was pretty good. It had a very different flavour combination than I’m used to. 

While preparing this salad, I discovered although I love my microplane zester, it doesn’t love me back. Also, while it was my first time in the kitchen under the supervision of an actual chef – I don’t think I would be able to work in such a high intensity environment. I like taking my time with food, and staying calm – hopefully I’ll work on my staying calm goal during the remaining sessions. 

The boyfriend and I went on a date, to determine if Toronto Life was accurate in naming the Harbord Room’s burger as the best burger in Toronto. Were they right? Yes, maybe… I’m not a huge burger connoisseur, but it was juicy and practically melted in my mouth – that’s a great sign, right? 

We also tried the Ricotta doughnuts – also hailed by Toronto Life (You can tell that I’m an avid reader), and while they were delicious, my dad has made something similar before (lucky me!), and really nothing beats the coconut cream pie at Scaramouche. 

This is the first of many of my bird watching pictures. We have a couple of bird feeders in the back, so it’s always amazing to see who stops by. I have yet to see a blue jay though. My mom swears that she saw one, but I don’t believe her… 


But seriously, how awesome is that cardinal? He’s so vibrant red, and it’s crest (feathers on its head) are so predominant. I wonder if it’s mating season… 


Last but not least, seeing my best friend is always an adventure. Our lives are so busy, that it’s often hard to find a time to see or call one another. Catching up and being yourself with the one of the people who’s known you longest always brings a smile to my face. 

(PS. Milestones has select Top Chef appetizers and entrees! Why did I just find this out now?)

Hopefully our schedules will align again – especially as I’ve been promised a high park date!

What exciting things did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

