cooking / gluten-free / recipe

back to basics: pasta alfredo with chicken and vegetables

I have an amazing grandmother – she bought me two large bricks of parmagiano regiano cheese (my favourite). This worked out perfectly, because at my cooking class last week my brilliant teacher taught us that back in the day fettucini alfredo was made using simply grated parmagiano regiano cheese, butter (I don’t add it), and water from which the pasta was cooked. 

Ingredients (for basic alfredo pasta recipe)
– 1 cup pasta (I used brown rice pasta, which doesn’t really expand)
– 1/4 cup parmagianno regianno cheese, grated

Extras
– 1/2 cup peas (I used frozen)
– 1 portobello mushroom
– 1 chicken breast

Bring a pot of water with a teaspoon of salt to boil. If you’re worried about sodium, you can decrease the amount used, but remember, most of this water is being discarded. You simply want to give flavour to the pasta. I used to put olive oil in the water – don’t do this! It prevents the sauce from sticking to the pasta. 

While you wait for the water to boil, prepare your vegetables. I panfried frozen peas with a little olive oil. 

Next, I washed and sliced a portobello mushroom. 

Cook the mushroom slices along with the peas – once they’re done, move the vegetables into a bowl and keep the frying pan. 

As the water boils, put the pasta in and wait for it to get al-dente (I prefer it a bit softer – but that’s just me). When the pasta is finished save about 2 tablespoons of the water and drain the pasta. 

Add the pasta to the frying pan (where you cooked the peas and mushrooms), along with the cheese and water. 

This part requires you to be very patient! Gently start stirring everything together, until the cheese melts and you get a nice consistency with it and the water.

When it’s ready, you can add in your vegetables (like I did!), and I topped off my pasta with a baked chicken breast. 

2 thoughts on “back to basics: pasta alfredo with chicken and vegetables

Leave a Reply

