food / recipe

copycat food: chipotle chicken nachos with pineapple salsa

Do you ever look at a menu and think “I can make this at home!” I confess, I do this quite often. 
Last week I went to a great placed called the ‘Queen Mother Cafe,’ and found a interesting taco plate on the menu. Although I ordered the short ribs instead (delicious, even though I know I shouldn’t eat too much red meat), I couldn’t stop thinking about these tacos (pulled chicken simmered in adobo sauce with a pineapple and red pepper salsa). 
When I got home, I realized that the taco shells in my pantry were a bit stale, so I opted to make nachos instead (they’re practically the same thing). 
Ingredients (serves two)
For the chicken
– 1 can of chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (keep the sauce)

 

– cornstarch (enough to coat however many pieces of chicken you plan to cook)

 

– 2 chicken breasts

 

For the salsa
– 1 red pepper, diced

 

– 2 cups of freshly cut pineapple, diced 

 

– juice of 1 lime 

 

– mint, chopped
 

 




Remove the chipotle peppers from the adobo sauce – pour the sauce into a pot and add a cup or two of water (so that it will cover the chicken), and roughly chop the peppers and add them back to the sauce.

Cover the chicken with cornstarch – this is an interesting tip that I learned in my class, because the cornstarch will keep the chicken breasts moist (as they sometimes tend to dry out). 
Before adding the chicken to the adobo sauce, brown the chicken over heat using vegetable oil.

 

 

Add the chicken to the sauce, bring it to a boil, and let it simmer for about 45 minutes.
In the meantime, prep the ingredients for the salsa, then mix them all together. Let the salsa sit for a bit, allowing the flavours to marry.

When the chicken is ready, you’ll notice that it will begin to peel. The above picture was my attempt at pulled chicken (my tool of choice were tongs) – it pulled better than I expected, however I could have afforded to leave it in the sauce a bit longer (60 minutes instead of 45).

 
Here’s the finished product! I topped it off with old cheddar cheese, and I would have added guacamole if the avocados were ripe! Next time…
Have you ever tried to reproduce a dish before? What were the results?
2 thoughts on “copycat food: chipotle chicken nachos with pineapple salsa

Leave a Reply

