detox

summer detox (again)

Image from weheartit.com
Now that you’ve read the title of this post, you’re probably wondering, “Why are you doing this to yourself, especially during the summer?”

The truth is, I haven’t really been taking great care of myself this summer (froyo, eating out often, or not eating enough) – especially since I work 40 hours a week (and I’m on my feet about 95% of the day), I come home tired and all I want to do is eat or relax. Sound familiar? 

I was on Groupon last week and saw that a nutritional detox was being offered by Eating Pretty. Because I did a detox at school, and there’s a high possibility that I’ll have my patients do this, I bought it to try it out and see how successful it could be.

The first 2 days require a cleanse (which is thankfully not a juice cleanse and I get to eat some chicken and unlimited greens), and afterwards I follow a planned menu which consists of mainly vegetables and small amounts of protein for 4 weeks until I begin to reintroduce foods into my diet.

So far, I’ve been getting daily messages in my inbox with various readings, motivation pieces, and questions to consider. 


I officially started my detox today and I’m quite tired mainly because my meals for the next 2 days are bland and boring (and not terribly filling). I’m sure I’ll begin to notice changes during the next 8 weeks.

In the meantime, I’m going to start looking for bootcamp classes – I figure that might give me some motivation to get out and exercise!

Leave a Reply

