fast food / food / recipe

fast food: strawberry and spinach quinoa salad

I have to admit, I miss going to school and seeing what everyone has prepared for lunch – because it’s usually gourmet and fantastic (and it inspires me to get creative with my ingredients and make something just as healthy and delicious).
 
Needless to say, I’ve been trying to make my summer lunches as creative and nutritious as I can (compared to last year’s salami sandwiches). 
 
Taking some inspiration from this salad, I substituted quinoa for the shrimp, added pecans, and drizzled a sweet and delicious dressing on top. 
 
Delicious. 
 
Ingredients (for 1)
 
– 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
– 2 cups of spinach, julienned
– 6 strawberries, sliced
– 1/4 cup pecans
– 2 tbsp of goat cheese, crumbled on top
 
For the dressing
– 2 tbsp of olive oil
– 2 tsp of balsamic vinegar
– 1 tsp of honey mustard
– 1 tsp of honey (you might not need to add this, but I bought the best honey at St. Jacobs, and find any excuse to use it in a recipe)
 
Assemble ingredients for the salad, then top it off with the dressing! 
Leave a Reply

