life

my ideal day

via  2unicorn4u.tumblr.com
I’ve read a few articles mentioning that while New Years resolutions are great – it’s best to have them planned out and ready to go before January 1st arrives. My resolution this year: try to have a consistent plan for each day (ie. waking up early, exercising, eating well). 

Despite being in stress mode for the last two weeks, I managed to remain relatively calm and healthy – and was hoping to continue that in 2013. So, I’ve come up with my ideal day (not a perfect day, because nothing is truly perfect), that I hope to start this week and continue into 2013. 

So what exactly does my ideal day consist of?

1. Wake up! …usually an hour or two before school/work doesn’t hurt. It’ll help set into motion some of the other things I hope to achieve. 

2. Drink a glass of (lemon) water before breakfast

3. Go for a 20 minute run… This helps boost your metabolism and burn fat (which is always great), and helps you feel awake and energized! You can conquer today! 

4. Eat breakfast, and make sure it includes protein… protein is so important because it’s the building block of the cells in our bodies. It helps repair tissues and bones, and helps us feel full longer – leading to healthier choices throughout the day!

5. Drink green tea on your morning commute, or throughout the day… it’s a superfood, full or antioxidants, and speeds up metabolism. You really can’t go wrong – and if you’re feeling extra special or indulgent check out David’s Tea for some delicious options!

6. Go to school/work and try to surround yourself with positive people! (This also includes catching up with a friend after work or talking with your partner. Seeing people who make you happy inevitable makes your day better!)

7. Remember to eat healthy meals and snacks (both with protein!) throughout the day. I find when I prepare my lunches and snacks on Sunday night, it makes my morning easier and all you really need is to heat it up on the stovetop in the morning, or in the microwave at lunch. 

8. Keep yourself hydrated… I aim to drink about 2.5L of water throughout the day, and find it really easy when I keep a 1L pitcher on my desk. I found a delicious way to keep track of your water intake throughout the day – but I don’t trust myself to be honest (especially with a sweet treat!)

9. Exercise (again?)… Some people don’t like exercising twice, but the reason why I do it is (a) because that’s the only time I can make it to my yoga class and (b) when I want to catch up on my favourite TV shows, I go for a run instead of sitting on the couch 

10. Turn off electronics at night… This one is so hard to do. Especially if you’re a student   working on assignments, notes, essays until the wee hours of the morning. So my advice, try to do this as often as you can by setting an alarm of when you want to be done your work and then go to bed. Or, move your work into another room so you can reserved your bedroom for sleep and impromptu dance parties. 

11. Sleep!… People who say “sleep is for the weak” make me laugh. A good nights sleep is great for the brain, body, and will help you feel so incredibly refreshed come the next morning. I try to aim for 6-8 hours. 

So, I must admit – I haven’t all tried these together, but since I have the next 2 weeks off I’m going to see how it works, and modify anything before school starts in the new year. 
Do you have a version of your ideal day? I’d love to know what it includes!

Leave a Reply

