dessert / recipe

copycat food: peppermint hot chocolate

IMG_2214

It’s that time of year where Holiday commercials are beginning to run on TV, the malls are showcasing their decorations, and Starbucks has begun brewing their Holiday drinks.

I for one, love Starbucks. Mostly because it’s the only coffee shop near school that has lactose-free or soy milk, and because it makes for a nice Friday treat (to help get through the last class of the day, of course). Nevertheless, it makes for an expensive habit (although I like collecting stars, and I’m close to gold level status) and sometimes when I’m home I just want to wrap myself in a blanket and not leave my house.

What gets me really excited is the flavour combination of chocolate and mint. So delicious. Back in the day I would add crushed candy canes to a steaming cup of hot chocolate, but now I’ve developed a less aggressive and more delicious process.

//Ingredients//

  • 1 cup of chocolate almond milk
  • 50g of dark chocolate, chopped (I used mint chocolate to intensify the flavour)
  • 1/2 tsp (or to taste) of pure peppermint extract

//Directions//

In a small pot, add chocolate and mint to almond milk. Heat, stir, and enjoy.

One thought on “copycat food: peppermint hot chocolate

  1. Pingback: my winter essentials | The Individual Balance

Leave a Reply

