asian medicine / cooking / recipe

yin boosting smoothie

yin boosting smoothie

A few years ago I shadowed an acupuncturist who showed a great interest in the Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) properties of food. She introduced me to a couple of great books that I refer back to for assignments and personal interest.

After obtaining my TCM diagnosis in class, I quickly referred back to these books to see which foods I should be eating more of to help build yin. In TCM, the yin substance is referred to as the water of the body and is used to help fuel it. Compared to yang which is warm, yin is cool in nature and the key to restoring and supporting yin is rest. So, stimulating foods like caffeine, alcohol, and sugar may not be the best things to be eating if you know you have a yin deficiency.

Since getting a certain appliance, I’ve been making smoothies left, right, and centre (cost per use!) – so it made sense to support my yin by making a smoothie.

Ingredients (* denotes yin foods)

  • *1 Apple (I used a Fuji apple), washed and chopped
  • *1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 celery stalk
  • *1/4 tsp honey
  • *1/2 cup pineapple
  • *1 cup spinach

Other smoothie-friendly foods include: avocado, banana, mango, pear, pomegranate, watermelon

Directions: Blend and enjoy

To complete this all-around (yin) breakfast with healthy fat and protein: I scrambled an egg, and had mashed avocado on toast (1 avocado, 1 tsp of lemon juice, sprinkle of salt and red pepper flakes)

For other smoothie recipes that I’ve enjoyed, check this post out.

yin breakfast

2 thoughts on “yin boosting smoothie

Leave a Reply

