dessert / food / gluten-free

(raw-ish) peanut butter cups

(*note: this actually tastes much better than it looks)
 
I’ll admit – I have an unhealthy obsession with all things peanut butter and chocolate. First I gave up the cute and delicious peanut butter cupcakes at Starbucks, and then I gave up peanut butter and nutella sandwiches for breakfast (which is the easiest thing to make during exam time!). 
 
I had originally purchased most of the ingredients for this recipe before exams (and then forgot), and was reminded of the recipe when choosing a dessert at Earls yesterday. 
 
I used a recipe from Oh She Glows, but made a few modifications. 
 
Crust
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp of cashews
1.5 tbsp agave nectar
1 tbsp coconut oil
2.5 tsp cocoa powder
 
(OSG, used graham crackers for the crust)
 
Peanut Butter Filling
2 ripe bananas (the banana’s I used seemed a bit too ripe – the peel was starting to brown, I would use fresh-er bananas next time – so as to lessen the strong flavour of the banana)
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
 
(OSG used silken tofu for the filling + a few other ingredients)
 
Chocolate Shell
2.5 tbsp dark chocolate chips
1.5 tsp coconut oil
You’re going to have to mix each layer separately in a food processor, except for the chocolate shell (chocolate chips and coconut oil are melted in the microwave).
 
Mix all the ingredients for the crust in the food processor and divide it into 5 mini-bowls. Oh She Glows used mini-mason jars but I didn’t have those.
 
Flatten the crust using a spoon. 
 
Mix the filling, I think if my bananas were a little less ripe, the consistency wouldn’t have been as liquid-y. I accomodated for that by adding more peanut butter.
Before adding the chocolate, cover the bowls/jars and freeze them for about 30 minutes. 
 
Microwave the chocolate and coconut oil (I timed it for a minute – it could be more or less depending on your microwave), and mix. Once melted, pour on top each of the bowls and try to cover the peanut butter filling as best as you can. 
 
 
You should get a nice layer (probably better than mine). I froze the bowls for another 5 minutes, before indulging. For the others, I would defrost them for 5-10 minutes before eating them. 
 
Have you tried turing something unhealthy into a healthy treat?
 

Leave a comment